Farm-to-Fork Friday: Almost Time to Plant my Microfarm!

Happy Friday!

I hope everyone’s day is off to a great start. I have a little confession to make- I didn’t eat at a farm-to-fork restaurant this week! I also didn’t buy any local food this week so I didn’t have the opportunity to use my awesome chef skills (or lack thereof) to cook up any delicious local meals myself! Therefore, I do not have any great local, sustainable, meals to share with you all.

I was a little excited when I walked by Harvest Moon Grille, a farm-to-fork restaurant, in uptown Charlotte last weekend, but my boyfriend and I were meeting some out of town friends for dinner so I couldn’t exactly mandate that we eat there. It’s definitely on my growing lists of farm-to-fork restaurants to try.

I will definitely have a nice farm-to-fork restaurant posting next Friday!

In the meantime, I thought I’d chat about microfarming. I’m not an expert on microfarms, but I grew up in a family that planted a small garden every year. It started out with the basics- tomatoes and strawberries. Last year my father planted an assortment of fruits and vegetables such as tomatoes, bell peppers, jalapeños, squash, zucchini, cantaloupe, cucumbers, green beans, and strawberries. Oh, and my favorite, pattypan (sunburst/summer) squash. I grew up calling it “spaceship” squash because that’s what it resembled to me. Perhaps “UFO” would have a more fitting name because of its shape, but I suppose I liked the nickname “spaceship” better.

This year, I am going to contribute to my dad’s microfarm. I don’t really have a place to grow my own so I’ll just use up some of my parents’ property! I recently learned about some organic gardening classes being offered by Microfarm Organic Gardens at the Atherton Mill and Market. Hopefully I can find time in my schedule to attend the classes on March 20th and 21st so I can educate myself on harvesting quality organic produce. I doubt my dad’s garden meets any sort of “organic” standard!

So what is microfarming? Here’s a good explanation I stumbled upon on Microfarm Organic Gardens’ blog:

Simply put, a microfarm is a small amount of land – an acre or less to be exact- that is devoted to the production of food. The term often applies to tiny farms operating in dense urban settings, but can just as easily describe a small area used for food production in a suburban or rural setting. The idea is to utilize available space for raising food, and harvest the property’s natural resources, like rainwater and leaves, and recycle them back into the farm.

You can read the rest of the blog post here.

I’m beginning to plan what I’m going to plant this year and will share the details with you in a future post!

Are you planning to grow anything this spring?

This entry was posted in Farm-to-Fork Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

