Seven Novice Cold Weather Running Blunders

Venture to my “about” page and you’ll find out I run, but I’m not a runner. I don’t know when I will start referring to myself as a runner, but I just know I’m not quite there yet. Perhaps I’ll consider myself a runner once I’ve completed two half marathons. I really need to call my ultra marathoner aunt and find out from her when I can begin referring to myself as a runner. I would hate to step on any toes!

Anyway, I’ve completed a handful of 5k races and a few other random races, but nothing more than an 8k. I like to think I could offer decent advice to someone seeking tips for running their first 5k; however, I wouldn’t recommend coming to me for advice. I know what works for me when it comes to preparing for 5ks, but I know my approach may not be the best approach for everyone.

While I may feel somewhat knowledgeable about running 5ks, I learned this morning that I have so much to learn about running and feel many more learning opportunities coming my way as I continue to train for my first half marathon.

This morning I headed out for a seven mile run and I made seven serious running blunders. Seven. I actually thought about titling this post “Novice Runner Stupidity.” However, I thought that title was far too harsh and negative for the mostly positive world of running. But, my actions were just that- stupid. At least I learned some valuable lessons today!

The Big Seven:

  1. Leaving the house without the appropriate running gear.It was 34 degrees this morning in Charlotte when I headed out for my morning run at 8:30 a.m. I figured a light Nike shirt would be a good choice paired with my lululemon wunder under pants. I didn’t bother wearing anything on my head nor did I wear my running gloves. I thought to myself, “Last February I ran a 5k in 20 degree weather with shorts and a long sleeve under armour shirt and I was just fine.” Oh, how stupid can I be.First of all, I froze during that 5k and ran to Starbucks immediately following. It wasn’t ideal but it was bearable so I thought I’d be fine heading out of the house this morning in the outfit described above. So wrong. Running a 5k in cold weather is nothing like running seven miles in cold weather. I suppose I justified my light outfit because I thought I’d warm up in a few miles and I’d spare myself from having to peel off layers. Again, dumb. I’m confident I would have called it quits had it not been for the warmth of my wunder unders.
  2. Skipping warm-up/stretching. I went to the greenway so the last thing I wanted to do was stretch and warm-up for 5-10 minutes in cold weather. I decided to skip all that “nonsense” and ease straight into my seven mile run. It was okay and I didn’t get hurt but it took me such a long time to feel loose. I’ll never skip out on stretching again.
  3. Licking my lips. I didn’t apply any lip gloss or chapstick before I headed out for my run. Not smart. I decided it’d be a good idea to lick my lips periodically to moisten them (even though I knew it was an idiotic idea). Dumb move. I had some super dry red lips by the end of my run. I plastered lip gloss on my lips as soon as I reached my car.
  4. Running without water. I’ve been bringing water on 5+ mile runs but I guess I was half asleep this morning because I left the house without any water. I can’t stand running without water on long runs now. My mouth gets super dry and I just can’t take that feeling. I missed my water like crazy this morning. Who needs to hydrate, anyway?
  5. Using my breathe to warm my hands. My poor hands were super red and so frozen so I decided I’d do what I could to keep them warm. Um, let’s just say I needed to focus on breathing rather than wasting my warm breathe on my hands. I’m sure exhaling large amounts of breathe during a long run didn’t do me one bit of good.
  6. Using a slow stubby man as my pacer.This subsequently made me feel like an animal stalking its pray.  I felt like the lioness on discovery channel that stalks her pray only to attack it moments later. It felt so creepy to run five feet behind the guy for 3 miles. I’m not even sure he knew I was behind him until I decided to pass him. This was a blunder largely because my pace was 30 seconds slower per mile when I was following him. I should’ve passed him as soon as I caught up to him and all this stalker stuff could have been avoided.
  7. Returning to a car stocked with nuun but no water to mix it with. Now that’s a fail. I love my nuun.

Surprisingly, I had a decent run this morning despite all my epic fails. I ran seven miles in 1:04:47. My goal is to run my first half marathon in 2:10 so it looks like I’m on target to accomplish my goal. Only time will tell!

On a somewhat unrelated side note, all the running I’ve been doing on the greenway is making me have major puppy/dog envy. I’d say half the people I see on the greenway have a cute little furry pal. I’m dying to have a dog but I know I couldn’t care for one right now so I’ll have to wait until the time is right.

Lately I’ve been obsessing over bernese mountain dogs and I saw one on my run this morning! He was so cute and for a brief moment I forgot I was freezing. I didn’t snap a picture because I was already feeling like a creeper on the greenway, but here’s a picture of a bernese mountain puppy having a playdate with my boyfriend’s family’s golden retriever puppy. Which one is cuter!?! It’s so hard to choose!

What running mistakes have you made?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

