Princesses v. Pirates

If you’re on twitter, chances are you’ve come across the #princesshalf hashtag a few times over the last week or so. If you follow healthy living bloggers on twitter (like I do), you’ve seen this hashtag pop up dozens of times, if not hundreds. All of these lucky ladies are participating in the Disney Princess Half Marathon this weekend.

So, while I’m sitting here bright and early on a Saturday morning enjoying my bacon, egg whites, and papaya, tens of thousands of women and girls are making their fairytales come true. Running in princess attire!?! Yes, that’s a dream come true!

I would love to be at Disney this weekend enjoying all the Princess Half Marathon festivities. It seems so magical. I just can’t get over how cool it would be to be a running princess. I love princesses and I love running so it’d be heaven for me! I can think of a half dozen costumes I’d love to wear and my guess is some lucky girl in Orlando is dressed just like I would be if I were there.

Unfortunately, I did not learn about this race until it was sold out. I highly doubt I would have been able to run a half this month anyway. I’m just not quite there yet and that’s okay! This race is officially marked as a race I will run in 2013!

Since I’m not able to be at Disney, I’ll just let all the magic come to me via healthy living blogs. I can’t wait for Callie over at Athlete Wannabe to post all of her race day photos! I’ve already admired her posts from the Fit for a Princess Expo and Princess Half Meet Up. I can’t wait for her to make more posts! I also can’t wait to see what Lori and Michelle share on their blog over at Pure2Raw (side note: I’m slightly obsessed with visiting their blog for recipes).

I may be missing out on the fun today but I have a themed race coming up soon so at least I have something to look forward to! I am running in the Flying Pirate Half Marathon in the Outer Banks in April. I can hardly wait as it will be my first half marathon!

 

I may not be able to dress like a princess at my upcoming half marathon but I will be able to dress like a pirate! So all you ladies that are looking so gorgeous and feminine today can be jealous of me for being able to dress like a pirate!

Anyway, Outer Banks Sporting Events posted this beauty on Facebook yesterday.

Yes, it’s a medal, a bottle opener, and a charm! I’d say that’s a pretty sweet first medal. I’ll be the proud owner of one on April 22nd!

I’ll have a productive day anxiously waiting for my favorite bloggers to post princess updates. I don’t think I’d have a problem sitting at the computer all day waiting for their blogs to be updated; however, my training schedule calls for 3 miles today so I at least have to get away for a little while!

Happy Saturday!

Have you ever ran the Disney Princess Half Marathon or the Outer Banks Flying Pirate  Half Marathon? Is dressing up really that fun?

This entry was posted in Races, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

