So You Think You’re Healthy

But are you really? Maybe you run three half marathons a year. Maybe you eat a clean diet 90 percent of the time. Maybe you don’t smoke or drink. Perhaps you’re an avid crossfitter. Who knows, maybe you’re a triathlete.

You’re active, you eat healthy, and your BMI is in the healthy range so you must be healthy.

Too bad all of these things don’t automatically equate to being healthy. There could be things going on with your body that you can’t feel or see.

When was the last time you had a well visit (physical)?

I have a wellness visit tomorrow and I’m actually looking forward to it. I tend to think I’m a very healthy individual, but it gives me peace of mind to have my physician tell me she thinks the same. I’m a big believer in annual well visits.

My friends think I’m crazy for going every year since I’m young and appear so healthy. I tell them I’m a big fan of preventative medicine and that I think it’s extremely important to be established with a primary care physician so that if something does go awry I have a medical home. Plus, I like staying on top of my numbers.

Anyway, it’ll be an interesting visit since I haven’t weighed myself in over 6 months. If there’s one number people know it’s their weight… Not me! Weighing in a couple of times a year is good enough for me. I choose to avoid the scale since I don’t think it’s an accurate representation of health and fitness. Plus, scales have the reputation of driving people crazy! I pay attention to how my clothes fit and I can usually tell if I’m getting off track by how I feel. Nonetheless, I am looking forward to knowing my weight.

I scheduled my appointment for 3 p.m. without thinking about the repercussions associated with scheduling a physical for that time of day. I have to fast until at least 4 p.m. tomorrow! I seriously can’t believe I made that mistake. I fuel my body at least four times on a typical day by that time in the afternoon. I’m going to be a very hungry and grumpy lady tomorrow.

Too bad it’s so important to fast before blood work. I despise fasting. Chances are nothing has changed since last year, but I like to keep an eye on my numbers every year so I can keep everything in check. I like to know my cholesterol, blood glucose, and other fun numbers!

Do you know your numbers? What’s your blood pressure? All of us should be able to recite our “normal” blood pressure off the top of our heads. That’s what I hear, anyway.

Do you schedule a wellness visit every year or do you just visit a doctor when you’re feeling down? Do you think it’s important to stay on top of your numbers?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

