What I Ate Wednesday

Click on button to learn more about WIAW!

I’m new to blogging.

I’m fairly certain you’ve picked up on that already. It probably took you all of five seconds.

Anyway, I started this blog because I was inspired by all the healthy living bloggers I follow. I’ve always been passionate about living healthy so blogging about healthy living just made sense to me. I slowly gained the courage to share my life with the world over the past year. I am still somewhat reserved about all of this sharing, but I am sure I will warm up to it!

I read about a half dozen to a dozen healthy living blogs on a regular basis now. Jenn’s blog, Peas and Crayons, is amongst one of my favorite blogs to visit.  I’ve been following a lot of the healthy living bloggers for about a year now, but I just recently discovered Jenn’s blog about a month or so ago when I kept seeing tweets with #WIAW. I am so thankful those tweets led me to her blog! Jenn is the creative mind behind all the What I Ate Wednesday posts you see on so many blogs.

She seems so fun and visiting her blog is always worthwhile. Here’s another reason I love reading Jenn’s blog… She is so sweet! I decided to tweet her to see if I could join in on the #WIAW fun and confessed to her that I was an aspiring healthy living blogger. I didn’t feel worthy enough to join in on the fun and expected her response to be something like “sure” or “yah, that’s cool.”

Do you think Jenn responsed like that? Not a chance. Here’s how she responded to me:

“@RunLiftPlay whoo! party away girl! ❤ … we’re doing a theme this month: LOVE your veggies! #wiaw”

Her response made me feel so good. I suppose she knows everyone has to start somewhere! I look forward to making weekly What I Ate Wednesday posts especially now that I feel so welcome.

So, here we go. I’m feeling the pressure to make this a really good What I Ate Wednesday (which is actually what I ate Tuesday since I like to post in the mornings). Too bad my pictures aren’t even  near mediocre, my meals aren’t exciting, and I don’t have any recipes to bring to the table. Bummer. I’ll do better next time eventually (can’t expect to improve overnight, right?).

My typical weekday morning breakfast contains egg whites. Sometimes I make a frittata but I usually just whip up a veggie omelette. Yesterday’s omelette featured mushrooms, green bell pepper, tomatoes, and a dash of pepper. Oh, and I packed it with some heat. I added a nice big pinch of ground red pepper. I like it HOT! I also ate half a grapefruit and I washed it all down with a large glass of water.

My snack was somewhat pathetic, but I was in a rush and just threw something together. A handful of carrots, a few dried apricots, and a few macadamia nuts held me over until lunch time. How do you like my sad little paper plate? I also drank three cups of green tea before noon. I love green tea!

Since I rushed around yesterday morning I didn’t even pack a lunch. So, on my lunch break I ventured to Fresh Market to browse the isles for something healthy. I’m not sure I picked the healthiest meal, but it was a tasty meal! I ended up with a Greek Artichoke Salad. It contained artichoke hearts, bell peppers, red onions, cherry tomatoes, kalamata olives, and feta cheese. I can’t seem to get enough feta cheese these days! Needless to say, this salad had plenty of veggies (and fat) in it! I realized I needed to add some protein so I tossed in some turkey breast pieces but I didn’t take another picture.

Confession: I ate in my car. I left the office and had to commute to a meeting so there wasn’t enough time to find a way to eat anywhere else!

I also had an afternoon snack which I didn’t snap a picture of since I was rushing between meetings. I ate the leftover grapefruit from this morning and a few slices of turkey pastrami.

My next little snack was a Muscle Milk Light. I really try not to have drinks like this in my diet since I like eating clean, but sometimes they’re nice to have around on days like today. I needed to fuel my body after my 3 mile greenway run and this was just so convenient! I drank it on the go since I went straight from the greenway to the gym.

My workout at the gym was awesome and I ended up getting a little personal training action since I was the only that signed up for the 7:30p.m. class. Thrusters, deadlifts, v-ups… You name it, I did it.

I got home around 8:30pm and had a light dinner. I made a salad with tomatoes, sun dried tomatoes, cut up turkey burger, and olive oil. Exciting, right? I also made a nice little treat with mixed berries, chopped pecans, shredded coconut, and cacao nibs. Yum!

I ate tons of veggies today! I’m not sure if it’s because I was inspired by the WIAW theme for the month or if my body was just craving veggies. Either way, I feel great about how I ate today!

In case you’re wondering, I usually eat at the following times on weekdays (my weekend routine is less structured):
Breakfast @ 6:30a.m.
Snack @ 9:30a.m.
Lunch @ 12 or 12:30p.m.
Snack @ 3:00p.m.
Pre-workout snack or protein drink @ 5:30p.m.
Dinner: I try my best to eat before 7:30p.m but some nights it’s much later!

How often do you eat?

This entry was posted in What I Ate Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Jocelyn says:

    welcome to the club 😀

  2. runliftplay says:

    Thanks, Jocelyn! The header on your blog makes me happy. I love blueberries and I love snow! Now, please excuse me as I leave to go browse your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

