Extending Workouts Beyond Gym Walls

Source: hunter22375 via Zazzle

All too often we make fitness a rigid routine of working out in a gym with the masses. However, being fit shouldn’t mean that we should have to force ourselves to workout in a gym full of madness every day. Don’t get me wrong, I believe structured workouts are very important, but we should be complementing our workouts with other physical activity. I think too many of us look at working out as a task and once we accomplish it, we’re tempted to be idle for the rest of our day.

I constantly try to slip in fun physical activities outside of my main training in order to truly live an active lifestyle. I enjoy the feeling I get when I am active outside of gym walls or my scheduled runs. I always feel healthier when I’m routinely complementing my structured workouts with physical activities I genuinely enjoy.

My blog is named RunLiftPlay because I am a fan of finding fun ways to squeeze in additional physical activity! I believe running and lifting weights play an important role in my ability to stay fit, but I feel strongly that the ‘play’ portion of my life is what keeps me on track 365 days a year. Maintaining a rigid workout routine 5-6 days a week will inevitably become a challenge at some point during the year so it’s important for me to have activities in my life that will keep me active even when I do not have time for structured workouts.

I challenge you to find physical activities that you enjoy and to make an effort to do them on a regular basis. Perhaps you like to play tennis, shoot hoops, rock climb, or surf. I don’t care what the activity is, I just think it’s important for all of us to find a few fun physical activities we enjoy so we’re not relying solely on our scheduled workouts to keep us fit! Finding activities we are passionate about makes it so much easier to live and sustain an active lifestyle.

I hope you are inspired to begin complementing your scheduled workout with fun outdoor (or indoor) activities. Find your passion outside of gym walls. You’ll be glad you did.

Here are all the things I do to stay active outside of my typical running and gym routine (clearly I’m an outdoor type of girl):

  • Hiking
  • Mountain Biking
  • Stand-Up-Paddle Boarding (I’d kill to have my own board)
  • Wakeboarding
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowshoeing (ha, I’ve done it once)
  • Kayaking
  • Yoga (on occasion)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Extending Workouts Beyond Gym Walls

  1. Kelsey says:

    I love outside adventures! Especially in NY, I need to get out in nature for a hike. Even somehting like a trapeze class breaks it up!

Leave a Reply

