Rise N Shine

Good morning!

It is a bit early to be up on a Saturday, but when I’m not away on the weekends I usually try to kick off my Saturday with an early morning workout session at my gym. I always love early workouts since it sets the tone for the rest of my day. I went to the gym last night at 6:30pm so I am probably in for a nice treat since I’ve barely recovered. I try to space out my workouts better than that, but sometimes it’s impossible with the hectic schedule I maintain. Call me crazy, but I am also praying I feel up for a two mile run on the greenway after class. Just a nice, slow paced run since I’ll be doing my long run tomorrow.

I’m fueling my body with a bowl of Pumpkin Spice Latte Overnight Oats. This is my favorite breakfast right now, but I typically only enjoy it on weekends. I usually stick to an egg white omelet with a bunch of veggies on weekdays.

Here’s the recipe for the Pumpkin Spice Latte Overnight Oats:

  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1/2 c old fashioned gluten free oats
  • 2-3 tbsps canned pumpkin
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1 packet Starbucks Blonde Roast Instant Coffee (it’s really strong so you may only want to use 1/2 packet)
  • 2 tbsps cottage cheese (sometimes I sub a scoop of protein powder)
  • Sprinkle allspice, nutmeg, ginger and cloves to taste.
  • Scoop of cinnamon (seriously, I probably use at least a tbsp)
  • 1 tbsp almond butter (sometimes I choose to use a scoop of greek yogurt instead)
  • Dash of chia seeds

Energy!


Let me know if you try it! I love it because it only takes a couple of minutes to prep the night before and all I have to do is pull it out of the fridge in the morning. I know it doesn’t look delicious, but trust me it is! Hopefully I will get better at the whole taking pictures of food thing. I am new at this!

I’m pretty pumped that I will have my workouts knocked out by 10am this morning. I have a lot of chores and errands to get done, but later this evening I will be going out for some fun. I’m going to dine at a farm-to-fork restaurant in Charlotte, Zada Jane’s, so I’ll probably review it in my next farm-to-fork Friday post.

I’m also going to a Brazilian celebration, “A Night in Rio,” featuring traditional dancing, live musical performances, and authentic foods. In the past year or so I’ve really forced myself into the Charlotte arts scene and I am amazed by how many cultural activities there are in the Queen City. Hopefully I’ll take some good pictures I can share with you all!

How do you kick-off your weekend in a healthy way?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

