Racing the Sun

I decided to cancel my scheduled workout yesterday for an unplanned run on the greenway since the expected high was 63 degrees. I’ve been putting a lot of miles in on the treadmill so I figured I better take advantage of the beautiful day and run outside. Thankfully, my favorite meteorologist was right and we had an absolutely gorgeous day in Charlotte.

As soon as 5pm hit I gave myself permission to rush out of the office to go for a run on the greenway. Since the sunset was around 6:05pm, I knew I would have to keep a decent pace in order to be back to my car before dusk. Apparently, racing the sun is good for me since I maintained a faster than normal pace. I have been trying to pace myself for 10 minute miles since my goal is to run my first half in 2:10.

Here are my run stats:

I’m happy with my 9’13″/mi pace and actually a bit shocked by it. I felt strong yesterday which was a good feeling since I struggled through my workout on Monday night. I even had enough energy to lift weights after a brief recovery period. I suppose somedays are better than others!

Today is a planned rest day since my day starts earlier than usual and doesn’t wrap up until about 8pm. Maybe I’ll find some time for a 15 minute ab routine later this evening.

Are you currently training for any races? How do you squeeze in the time for your runs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

